Introduction

Welcome, dear readers! My name is Tucker, and this is my blog. Yes, I know, I’m a little late to the game with this whole blogging phenomenon, but I’d like to think that I can compensate for this by consistently putting out quality material in the form of the written word.

“But Tucker,” one might protest, “with all sorts of other interesting things going about on the Internet, why should I take the time out of my very busy schedule to visit this site every once in a while? What makes your musings so special?” Such a hypothetical strawman would make a very good point. So before we go forward, I suppose it would make sense to share some personal information, so you all can get to know me a little bit better, no?

As I noted earlier, my name is Tucker, and I’d like to think I hold a lot of opinions that are prime blogging material. I love Star Wars and Star Trek equally, which obviously makes J.J. Abrams the greatest person alive right now in my book. I like to think of Calvin and Hobbes less as a comic strip and more as a guide to living life. My favorite Pandora station is a weird mix of folk and anti-folk. I was into A Song of Ice and Fire/Game of Thrones long before it became socially required. I follow electoral politics with the same level of interest that others reserve for their favorite sport. And I am desperately holding out hope that Community will still be revived in some form or fashion. All this to say, while even ten years ago I would have immediately been labelled a “nerd”, today I’m pretty confident that I’m representative of the new mainstream of modern American culture.

In upcoming installments I hope to cover a wide range of topics, from pop culture to politics to the odd minutiae of life. Not only that, but I hope to do it in a way that encourages my readers to look at these things from whole new perspectives, to see some hidden value in something that might not have even given a second thought to. Nothing is off-topic, and I encourage you all to share your thoughts on my thoughts (but let’s be reasonable, people: trolling, bigotry and the like will NOT be tolerated).

Now that that’s all been taken care of, let’s go.

Leave a Reply

